Photographer's Note

TRUONG TIEN BRIDGE has stood by Hue’s people side and seen all ups and downs of history and ancient capital.

Over time the bridge has had many different names, including Thanh Thai Bridge (named after a ruler of Nguyen Dynasty) and Clémenceau Bridge (named after a French Prime Minister). Its present named translates as "Royal Mint Bridge".

It was the first bridge over the Perfume (Huong) River. It was designed by Eiffel in 1897 and completed in 1899.

The people of Hue have seen the bridge collapse three times: first during a violent storm in 1904, then in 1946 during the French War and then again during the American War in 1968.

Everytime it was built up again, sometimes it took many years, often with slight alterations.

These days the bridge stands as a proud symbol of the city of Hue and the resilience of its people.


THIS PICTURE shows the bridge in the evening when it is lit in a colourful lightshow.




jean113, PaulVDV, jhm oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 246
Points: 24
  • None
Additional Photos by Benny Verbercht (BennyV) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2768 W: 35 N: 5571] (29830)
View More Pictures