Zdjêcia

Photographer's Note

The foundation of the city is attributed to Marius Caius, around 102 BC, but the first document mentioning a place called "Ayga Mortas" (dead waters) dates from the 10th century AD.

Louis IX of France (Saint Louis) rebuilt the port in the 13th century as France's only Mediterranean port at that time. It was the embarkation point of the Seventh Crusade (1248) and the Eighth Crusade (1270).

The 1,650 metres of city walls were built in two phases: the first during the reign of Philippe III the Bold and the second during the reign of Philippe IV the Fair, who had the enclosure completed between 1289 and 1300. The Constance Tower, completed in 1248, is all that remains of the castle built in Louis IX's reign. It was designed to be impregnable with six-metre-thick walls. A spiral staircase leads to the different levels of the tower.

Source: Wikipedia

Photo Information
Viewed: 1784
Points: 66
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Gunnar Holmertz (saxo042) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3641 W: 199 N: 5664] (38078)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH