Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Town hall of Zamosc. It was built at the turn of the 16th and 17th centuries according to Bernardo Morando's design. In 1639 - 1651 the town hall was thoroughly remodelled by Jan Jaroszewicz and Jan Wolff. The edifice was enlarged and made higher by adding three storeys with a high attic. The facades have Mannerist proportions, regular divisions and rich architectural decor. In the 18th century a guardroom and a fan-shaped double stairway supported by arcades were built in front of the town hall. In 1770 the town hall tower was topped with a slender dome with a lantern. In XIX century in building was a jail on the other hand at the beginning next century was reconstructed its primary looking and then renovate it. At entrance to town hall it's worthy to pay attention to Saint Thomas' escutcheon with city's crest, escutcheon with Grunwald's Cross, plaque with town hall' entry on the list of Unesco. In the 18th century a guardroom and a fan-shaped double stairway supported by arcades were built in front of the town hall. In 1770 the town hall tower was topped with a slender dome with a lantern. In XIX century in building was a jail on the other hand at the beginning next century was reconstructed its primary looking and then renovate it. At entrance to town hall it's worthy to pay attention to Saint Thomas' escutcheon with city's crest, escutcheon with Grunwald's Cross, plaque with town hall' entry on the list of Unesco. Every day at midday (in season) is possible to hear bugle-call of Zamosc.

See You alternative take in the Workshop, please!

Photo Information
Viewed: 420
Points: 76
Discussions
Additional Photos by Lidia Krukowska (Lidka) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 203 W: 21 N: 581] (2188)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH