Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The canton Valais lies in the southwestern part of Switzerland around the valley of the Rhone River from its headwaters to Lake Geneva, separating the Pennine Alps from the Bernese Alps. The canton is one of the drier parts of Switzerland in its central Rhone valley. Paradoxically, it is also one of best-watered parts, having large amounts of snow and rain up on the highest peaks found in Switzerland.

The canton of Valais is probably best known for the Matterhorn and ski resorts such as Zermatt and Verbier. It shares borders with Italy to the south, France to the southwest, canton Vaud to the north and cantons Uri and Ticino to the east. The capital city is Sion.

The photo shows a view to Eischoll and Bietschhorn from Hohtenn side. The village of Eischoll is located at 1220 m above sea level on the south side of the Rhone on a sunny mountain terrace. This characteristic Valais village with fantastic views of the Bietschhorn and Lötschberg “south ramp” as well as its sunny location is very popular among national and international visitors.which are searching for peace and tranquillity.

The Bietschhorn (3,934m) is located on the south side of the Loetschental valley in Bernese Alps. The northeast and southern slopes of this mountain are part of the Jungfrau-Aletsch Protected Area listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site that also includes the Jungfrau and the Aletsch Glacier.

Bietschhorn was first climbed on 13 August 1859 by English writer and mountaineer Leslie Stephen, with Swiss guides, brothers Anton & Johann Siegen and Joseph Ebener.

Eischoll is located 104km south from Bern and 210km southwest from Zurich.

You can see more photos from Switzerland on my website www.mrsphoto.net/1-PhotoAlbum/3.1-Switzerland.htm

danos, bukitgolfb301, bona, Cricri oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 1647
Points: 24
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures