Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Castle of Frontignano - Todi (PG)

The castle rises along the road that from Ponte Rio, a hamlet of Todi, rises towards San Terenziano, in an area covered with towers and castles as a borderland with the Municipality of Gualdo Cattaneo.
In antiquity it was divided into two distinct units, Frontignano Maggiore and Frontignano Micciolo (that is Minor), but it is no longer possible to find on the site the memory of this distinction. It was one of the most equipped of the Municipality of Todi, as well testified by the powerful quadrangular tower of the XIII century.
Pope Alexander VI took it away from the jurisdiction of the Tuderte Commune, which was soon after returned by Pope Julius II in 1512.
Today it is partly ruined and partly transformed by use of houses, in addition to the mighty fifteenth-century tower, it also preserves quite intact a stretch of the small internal street, on which there are small doors and windows with round arches, very graceful in their simplicity, and the solid perimeter walls.
The parish church is a late reconstruction of the old, dedicated to Santa Maria, in the construction of the new have been partly reused materials coming from the demolition of the old, does not present today elements of relief.
In the square in front of the church lies a large rectangular stone slab, now adapted for use as a seat, is the altar table of the ancient church. On three sides of the stone runs a frame, whose strip carries an inscription in Gothic characters; the MCCCCXII date is read.

snunney, holmertz, ChrisJ, jhm, pierrefonds, ikeharel, mcmtanyel oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 297
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 15426 W: 130 N: 31872] (180479)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH