Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

The monastery of Geghard
The monastery was founded in the 4th century, according to tradition by Gregory the Illuminator. The site is that of a spring arising in a cave which had been sacred in pre-Christian times, hence one of the names by which it was known, Ayrivank (the Monastery of the Cave). The first monastery was destroyed by Arabs in the 9th century.
Earthquakes also did it no small damage.

The monastery was famous because of the relics that it housed. The most celebrated of these was the spear which had wounded Christ on the Cross, allegedly brought there by the Apostle Thaddeus, from which comes its present name, Geghard-avank ("the Monastery of the Spear"), first recorded in a document of 1250. This made it a popular place of pilgrimage for Armenian Christians over many centuries.


Larger version click here

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 44
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Piotr FG (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5728 W: 2 N: 11371] (53226)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH