Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

The temple was first built in the early Qing dynasty (1644-1911) by two monks named Baiguang and Zhufeng on the base of Sunflower Garden which was owned by a poet. The temple got its name from the Buddhist chant: 'When guided by purity, one can go anywhere.' Guiyuan Temple has survived through more than 300 hundred years of repeated cycles of prosperity and decline. Above all others, it has always led the other temples in Wuhan with prosperous public worship, flourishing Buddhist ceremony, and welcoming many pilgrims.

The temple was destroyed and rebuilt several times in its history and the present temple dates from the early Republic of China (1912-1949). Covering an area of 46,900 square meters with a floor space of 20,000 square meters, the temple mainly consists of Daxiongbaodian Hall, Arhat Hall, and the Sutra Collection Pavilion.

Source: TravelChinaGuide.com

Nobody oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 1851
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by paul jacobs (frankthebluedog) (23)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH