Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

The church of St Maurice (Mořic in Czech) standing near the chateau is one of the main dominants of Kroměříž. It was founded in the 13th century by bishop Bruno of Schauenburg, who established also the collegiate chapter house with six canons, a provost and a dean. The church was destroyed during the Hussite wars in the first half of the 15th century and reconstructed in 1516. The construction of the Baroque Marian Chapel (The Grieving Chapel) was completed in 1763. After a fire, the Gothic-Revival renovation (F. Jäger, Ant. Arche) in 1836-1848 gave the church the present appearance.

vodomerka, adamm oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 1219
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Marketa Oplustilova (MataOpa) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 36 W: 9 N: 58] (164)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH