Photographer's Note

In 1991 Estonia was re-established as an independent country and Tallinn became the capital again. The population is just 500,000.

Tallinn has historically consisted of three parts:

- The Old Town, which is the old Hanseatic town, the "city of the citizens", it was the centre of the medieval trade on which it grew prosperous.

- The Toompea or "Cathedral Hill", which was the seat of the central authority: Danish, Teutonic, Swedish and Russian.

- The "Estonian town" forms a crescent to the south of the Old Town, where the Estonians came to settle. It was not until the mid-19th century that ethnic Estonians replaced the local Baltic Germans as the majority amongst the residents of Tallinn.

Although extensively bombed by Soviet air forces during World War II, much of the medieval Old Town still retains its charm.

The Tallinn Old Town (including Toompea) became a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site in 1997.


Gerrit, PaulVDV, holmertz, bantonbuju, LamCam, alvaraalto, Angshu, Isabelle, rigoletto, banyanman, mafegan, jarkko oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 8344
Points: 40
  • None
Additional Photos by daniel yoffe (pastadog) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1670 W: 288 N: 2600] (13111)
View More Pictures