Zdjêcia

Photographer's Note

Not organ of the maritime ramparts of the city rochelaise, the tower of the Lantern was the privileged witness of more than five centuries of history. It knew many nicknames due to the events, but it remains with the c?ur of Rochelais this lantern, this headlight, not only essential for navigation, but especially blazing for the heart of all those which approached it. Its construction dates from the time when Pierre Bragier is elected mayor of the Small rock, in 1445. His/her brother-in-law, Jean Mérichon, mayor for the fifth time in 1468, make activate work which is completed only in 1476. It thus took 31 years to perfect this elegant Lanterne which we can still admire, despite everything its history, sometimes tragic, and the risks to which it has escaped on several occasions. High, its destination first 75 meters is to be seen sailors. Its base consists of a 25 height meters cylindrical barrel and more than 15 meters in diameter. An octagonal arrow overcomes the unit, four of the eight sides are bored trefoil windows of blazing style. Each vein is furnished with hooks. An interior staircase, located on the northern blank of the basic and surmounted cylinder of an arrow, makes it possible to reach the top of it, while serving the various levels. Having reached this first platform on which is planted the high one and fine point, it is possible to reach one second by an external staircase on the western, closed and surmounted blank of a glazed arrow with eight sides

ravish, Kolyamour, singuanti, LEA, anakin, mumek, Gix oznaczy³ to zdjêcie jeko u¿yteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 2046
Points: 40
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by thierry stinflin (tityop) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1014 W: 57 N: 746] (6225)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH