Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Schütting

Built in a Flemish-inspired Renaissance style in 1537-38, the former merchants guildhall today is home of the city's Chamber of Commerce.
A stained-glass wall at the staircase (basement to 1st floor) shows the coats of arms of some presidents of the Chamber of Commerce since 1849. The stained-Glas wall proceeds in the staircase from 1st to 2nd floor.

The name "Schütting"

The first building of the mercantile community of Bremen was a simple middle-class house - at the corner of Haken-street to Langen-street - which was bought in 1425 and sold in 1444. The name "Schütting" was mentioned for the first time in 1444 when the house at the south side of the Market square was bought. There are several interpretations for the name "Schütting":

In the norwegian city of Bergen a merchant house offering shelter and warmth is named "Scoting" which has a corresponding term in Low-German called "schütten, inschütten" meaning guard or protect.

During the construction of the town-hall (1405) the towards south sloping terrain was planated up to the Balge creek (Low-german "schüttinge" = barrage). Later on the Balge creek - a small canal for inland water transportation - was completly filled in. On the backside of the Schütting - south of the Balge creek between Breden-street and Wacht-street - there was a facility already in 1477 called "Strate achter dem Schuttinge" which means "Street behind the Schuttinge".

A more profane interpretation for the name "Schütting" is "House where the Guild money was combined ("zusammengeschüttet")".


Address:
Schütting
Am Markt 13
28195 Bremen

Nobody oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 1904
Points: 2
Discussions
Additional Photos by Wolf Dieter Gomez Ringe (wodigori) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 38 W: 18 N: 53] (171)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH