Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Monastery of the Sacro Speco
Lower church

The Abbot Henry, between 1244 and 1276, as we read in the Chronicon, restructured the Sacro Speco where St. Benedict had been a hermit for three years, above which a first structure had already been built in previous times, building a large space around it rectangular, divided into three rooms, covered by cross vaults, one rectangular and two squares.
Access to the Lower Church today takes place from the transept of the Upper Church via a staircase, to the left of which (on the northern wall) there is a Byzantine fresco, which depicts the text of the bull of July 4, 1202, with which Pope Innocent III granted special favors to the monks residing in the Speco.
In the fresco, this text is supported on the right by Innocent III himself and, on the left, by Saint Benedict, who is seated, and who, kneeling in front of him, has the Roman abbot. Both Innocent III and the Roman abbot have a square halo, indicating that they were still alive at the time the painting was done and since they both died in 1216, this fact is significant for the renovations that the Speco underwent in those years.

ikeharel, Royaldevon, pierrefonds, jhm, Fis2, COSTANTINO, ChrisJ, mcmtanyel oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18847 W: 130 N: 39806] (212863)
  • Genre: Miejsca
  • Medium: Kolorowe
  • Date Taken: 2021-05-21
  • Naświetlenie: f/0.1, 30 sekund
  • Wersja zdjęcia: Oryginalna wersja
  • Date Submitted: 2021-05-26 2:40
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18847 W: 130 N: 39806] (212863)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH