Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Detail from the upper part of the bifora on the church of the Kalenić monastery, with a relief in the sandstone.rnrnAfter repeated Turkish assaults and attacks, the Kalenić Monastery was abandoned in the late 17th century. The Kalenic Monastery was restored in 1766, but during the rebellion against the Turks, in which the Kalenic Monastery monks took part, 1788-1791, the monastery was set aflame. The monks returned to the Kalenic Monastery only towards the end of the 18th century. From 1815 until 1839 the church of Kalenić Monastery hosted the holy relics of King Stefan the First-Crowned, afterwards transferred back to the Studenica Monastery. The Museum exposition of Šumadija Diocese exists in Kalenić Monastery. Kalenic Monastery is nunnery and belongs to Sumadija Bishopric. Our guests are always happy to visit the Kalenic Monastery, but are also excited to stay in the new, highly comfortable, traditionally appointed Hospice /Dormitory/, built in 2008. Rooms of the Kalenic Dormitory are single, twin and triple, built of natural materials – sotne and wood and equipped with wooden furniture, and nicely appointed bathrooms with showers. During their stay at the Kalenic Monastery Dormitory, guests are served with true monastic – non meat- or traditional food and wine prepared by nuns of produces grown at the monastery estate.rnrnhttp://www.panacomp.net/

pajaran oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 321 W: 129 N: 1527] (9269)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH