Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.

Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).

From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


Aargau is one of the more northerly and one of the least mountainous Swiss cantons forming part of a great table-land to the north of the Alps (1,404 km2 - 534 thousands inhabitants). It borders Germany to the north, cantons of Basel-Landschaft, Solothurn and Bern to the west, canton of Lucerne to the south and cantons of Zurich and Zug to the east. The capital city is Aarau.

The photo shows the church of Muri Abbey a Benedictine monastery dedicated to Saint Martin of Tours. It flourished for over nine centuries at Muri (founded in 1027). It is located in Canton Aargau around 20km southwest from Zurich and 70km southeast from Basel.

pierrefonds, ikeharel, baddori, danos, ourania, kato oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 2107
Points: 38
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures