Zdjęcia

Photographer's Note

Split Rock Light Station was put into service on July 31, 1910. It was built by the federal government as a navigational aid, in response to a disastrous 1905 storm that sank or damaged 29 ships on western Lake Superior.

The light station primarily served freighters hauling iron ore that was mined in northern Minnesota and shipped out from the ports of Two Harbors and Duluth/Superior.

During its first twenty years, the station was accessible only by boat, so lighthouse keepers and their families lived on site for the Lake Superior shipping season and left for the winter months.

In 1924, the North Shore Highway was extended past the light station. The addition of a connecting road made the site accessible by car. By the 1930s, keepers and their families could live there year-around, and the light station had become a popular tourist attraction.

In 1969, the light station was decommissioned and deeded to the State of Minnesota for preservation. Since the 1970s, it has been a state historic site operated by the Minnesota Historical Society and the centerpiece of Split Rock Lighthouse State Park.

In 2011, Split Rock Lighthouse was listed as a National Historic Landmark. The lighthouse and remaining buildings appear much as they did in the 1920s.

ikeharel, jean113, pajaran, cornejo, rasterman, aliabazari, adores, jhm, PaulVDV, pierrefonds, ourania, Lidka oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 2844
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 717 W: 10 N: 2220] (9139)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH