Photographer's Note

The Sturgeon Bay Canal Light -- from http://www.harbourlights.com/catalog/2005/sturgeon_bay.htm -- "This unique lighthouse was named in honor of the massive sturgeon fish that traversed the canal waters through the years. Big Red, as locals affectionately call it, has had a long history of changes and reconstructions during its lifetime. In spite of the setbacks, Sturgeon Bay Lighthouse stands strong today, boasting its ruby façade for the world to admire.

First built in 1882, the two-story steel fog signal building stands at the end of the North Pier, making the east entrance to the canal safe for seafaring travelers. In 1873, after construction of the new canal was underway, the Lighthouse Board recommended to Congress that a light and fog signal be built on the North Breakwater. Congress approved the proposal and construction began immediately."

elendim oznaczył to zdjęcie jeko użyteczne

Photo Information
Viewed: 2508
Points: 10
  • None
Additional Photos by Jim Pinkham (jpinkham) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 189 W: 10 N: 183] (870)
View More Pictures